North Dakota Homeschool Laws

General Overview of the Homeschooling Laws in North Dakota

In North Dakota, children must attend school (or be homeschooled) between the ages of 6 and 16. Parents must submit an annual notice with the local superintendent if they are homeschooling their child. They are also responsible for creating annual reports, detailing the progress of their child throughout the school year. Instruction must be provided in the same subjects which are taught in North Dakota schools.

Parents are required to have a high school diploma or equivalent to homeschool their children. The other option is to have the child monitored by a certified teacher. Students are assessed in grades 4, 6, 8, and 10 unless an exemption is sought.

Notification of Intent to Homeschool in North Dakota

Parents should send a notification of intent to the local superintendent at least 14 days before homeschooling begins or within 14 days of moving to the district. This notice of intent should then be sent annually.

The notice of intent must include the child’s name, address, grade level, and date of birth, along with the parent’s name and address, qualifications, and any extracurricular activities which the child is going to participate in. A copy of the child’s immunization record should be sent with the notice of intent, and the child’s birth certificate. Any children with disabilities are required to have a copy of their diagnosis and service plan submitted with the notice of intent.

Qualifications Required to Homeschool in North Dakota

In North Dakota, a parent or guardian who is homeschooling their child must have a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent. If they do not have that, the child needs to be monitored by a certified teacher for the first two years of homeschooling. The teacher can be chosen and compensated by the school board or chosen and compensated by the parent.

Number of Days/Hours of Instruction Required for Homeschoolers in North Dakota

North Dakota school law dictates that your child should meet the equivalent of 175 days of teaching per school year. There are no laws governing how the time is spread over the year or over the school day.

What Subjects Need to be Covered in Home Education (and for how long) in North Dakota?

The same subjects which are taught as standard in the school system of North Dakota are required by law to be taught to homeschool students too. This includes English, language arts, math, social studies, US constitution, history, Geography, Government, North Dakota studies, physical education, and health.

What are the Recordkeeping Requirements for Homeschoolers in North Dakota?

You are required by law to maintain annual records of the courses taken by your child and academic results/progress for your child. This record can be requested should the child want to rejoin the public system at a later date.

A homeschooled child is also required to take a standardized achievement test in grades 4, 6, 8, and 10. This can be taken in a school or at home.

North Dakota law does not dictate what you teach your child and how you teach them other than what has been stated above. There are no other laws surrounding how you assess your child or what records need to be kept. However, we recommend that you keep records of everything your child does or is involved in so that you can track their progress or any disputes.

Things to include in your records include proof of attendance, information on the resources you are using (including workbooks, textbooks, online resources, etc.), samples of your child’s work, any correspondence with school officials or boards, portfolios and test results, and any other homeschooling documents which prove that you are complying with homeschooling law and regulations.

We recommend keeping your records for two years, and the best way to store them is by scanning them into your computer and storing them in separate folders, grouped by the year your child was homeschooled.

Testing is an important part of recordkeeping in homeschooling even though there are no formalized requirements in the state of North Dakota detailing what your child should be learning. You should be able to demonstrate that your child is learning and your assessments should be agreed upon before you start your homeschooling year. You should keep a record of all your child’s assessments to display that your child is learning.

Is Part-time Enrollment Permitted in North Dakota?

Yes. Under North Dakota education law, your child can be partially enrolled in public school. This means that your child can take regular school classes as part of their homeschooling education and can split their time between home and school (as long as the school offers this).

Homeschoolers are also eligible to participate in extracurricular activities in public schools. Any homeschoolers who live with a disability are also eligible for services through their local public school (the same services which students with disabilities would receive if they were enrolled in public school).

Homeschool children are not allowed to participate in intramural sports.

Are Homeschoolers Permitted to Participate in Extracurricular Activities in North Dakota?

Yes, and it is encouraged. Homeschool children are permitted to participate in any other extracurricular activities, whether it be with a public school or another organization. You should submit any extracurricular activities as part of your notice of intent every year.

Find out additional information about homeschooling in North Dakota in the video below:

To receive more information about the homeschooling laws in the State of North Dakota, you may want to visit the North Dakota Home School Association website.

Leave a Comment