General Overview of the Homeschooling Laws in New Mexico
According to New Mexico Statutes Annotated/NMSA 1978 22-1-2 F and K, homeschooling is defined as a program in which a parent, guardian, or a private tutor instructs a school-age child, thus providing a basic education program that includes arts, mathematics, social studies, science as well as English language (reading, writing).
As proclaimed by section 22-1-2.1 of the New Mexico statute, anyone that has the intention of running a homeschool needs to have the adequate qualification of a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Notification of Intent to Homeschool in New Mexico
The notification of intent in the state of New Mexico has to be submitted within 30 days after the homeschooling program has started, and each upcoming year by August 1st. The notification of intent should be submitted to the New Mexico Public Education Department and should include the name of parent, address, signature, name, and age of the student, as well as a district where homeschooling will be performed. Along with the letter, the parent or guardian must submit information that shows that the child is up to date with their immunizations.
Qualifications Required to Homeschool in New Mexico
As for qualifications that a parent, guardian, operator, or a private tutor needs to possess in order to homeschool a school-age child, there are a few statute-proclaimed points. First and foremost, they should be the student’s legal parent or guardian (when talking about home instruction schooling). Along with that, they should have a high school diploma or an equivalent to it (this used to be a GED, and it still is in certain states like Maine).
Check out some information about homeschool in Mexico in this short video below:
The same rule stands both for a parent/guardian and the teacher in a private homeschooling group. The parent/guardian/operator should keep the records that will serve as proof that the child is formally receiving an education as required by the state of New Mexico’s laws.
Number of Days/Hours of Instruction Required for Homeschoolers in New Mexico
As suggested by state law and statute, a homeschooler needs to be educated/instructed for 180 days every year, and the classes should be conducted on the same days as with a public school.
What Subjects Need to be Covered in Home Education (and for how long) in New Mexico?
The subjects that are required in a homeschooling program is the same whether the child is enrolled in home instruction by the parent or guardian, or if they are sent to a private homeschooling group. As for the required subjects, the child needs to cover reading, English, language arts, math, social studies, and science, all of which are seen as an essential part of the homeschool curriculum.
The New Mexico statute does not state for how many lessons or years each subject has to be taught for, or if all subjects are to be instructed during the whole homeschooling program or just specific grades.
What are the Recordkeeping Requirements for Homeschoolers in New Mexico?
As with most other states, recordkeeping is a must in New Mexico’s homeschooling program. The person conducting the homeschooling program should keep records both for personal evidence, and in case a student needs to prove that they have completed a course. Some of the record examples encouraged by New Mexico’s statute are books and materials that were used in the program, samples of the student’s work, tests and portfolio, as well as attendance records.
These kinds of records need to be kept for at least 2 years (regulated similarly to recordkeeping in Maine). However, there are certain records that need to be kept for life; these include all high school records to show compliance with homeschooling laws. For any kind of additional information or recordkeeping support, you can contact HSLDA, which stands as a national advocacy organization.
Is Part-time Enrollment Permitted in New Mexico?
Yes, children who are enrolled in homeschooling are permitted to enroll part-time in public school programs. However, there are some restrictions. A homeschooler is permitted to enroll in a public school class if he/she is able to adapt to the needed academic requirements.
Additionally, it is the superintendent that makes the final decision as to whether their part-time enrollment application will be approved or not. It is important to note that if a homeschooler is denied, it has to be with an advocated reason. A big change has happened in the New Mexico homeschool regulations that now bans colleges from discriminating against homeschoolers and part-time enrollment.
Are Homeschoolers Permitted to Participate in Extracurricular Activities in New Mexico?
Similarly to the above-mentioned point, a homeschooler is permitted to participate in any kind of sports or extracurricular activity or event organized by a public school. This stands for students that are a part of a private homeschooling program, and no approval by the superintendent is required.
However, it is important to note that, unlike in some other states, the New Mexico homeschool regulation doesn’t allow disabled homeschooling students to use the testing services provided in a public school, so home testing will need to be arranged for this.
To receive more information about the homeschooling laws in the State of New Mexico, you may want to visit the Christian Association of Parent Educators Inc. website.