General Overview of the Homeschooling Laws in Nevada
Children in Nevada must attend school between the ages of 7 and 18; children can also be informal education from 6 years of age if they take part in developmental screening. Children of 5 years of age can also be accepted into a kindergarten program.
Learn some quick knowledge about homeschooling in Nevada in this short video below:
Between these ages, children are legally required to attend a school system in their district, and that school system can include homeschooling if the parent of the child chooses to homeschool and files a notice of intent.
Notification of Intent to Homeschool in Nevada
To homeschool in the state of Nevada, parents must send a notice of intent to the superintendent of schools in the school district in which the child resides. The form does not require the parent to give any information or assurances of homeschooling education.
The form should be filed before homeschooling your child. If you withdraw your child from public school, we recommend informing your school with the letter of intent before you do so, but by law, you can submit the notice up to 10 days after withdrawing your child.
If you move to the state of Nevada, you should notify your school no later than 30 days after arrival.
You must include the name, age, and gender of the child, along with the name and address of each parent who is filing to homeschool. The notice should also include a statement from each parent declaring that they have legal responsibility for the child; the name of the school (if any) last attended should be provided, and a learning plan.
Qualifications Required to Homeschool in Nevada
There are no parent/guardian qualifications needed to teach your child in the state of Nevada. You are responsible for what you teach your child and how you teach them. There are also no standardized tests needed to display that your child is gaining knowledge, but we recommend that you keep track of your child’s progress to show your local school board.
Number of Days/Hours of Instruction Required for Homeschoolers in Nevada
There are no laws governing the amount of instruction which you need to give to your child each year. When you start the year, you will have to come up with a plan detailing what you are teaching your child and when, but there are no laws governing how much tuition time you give to your child.
What Subjects Need to be Covered in Home Education (and for how long) in Nevada?
Nevada law has no formal requirements when it comes to what subjects you teach to your child, but you are required to come up with a learning plan each year to describe what you are going to teach your child. This learning plan could be needed in a court of law (along with proof of identity of the child) but cannot be used to deny you entry to a homeschool program. You are not required to teach any specific subjects in any given year.
What are the Recordkeeping Requirements for Homeschoolers in Nevada?
Nevada law does not dictate what you teach your child and how you teach them. There are no laws surrounding how you assess your child or what records need to be kept. However, we recommend that you keep records of everything your child does or is involved in so that you can track their progress or any disputes.
Things to include in your records include proof of attendance, information on the resources you are using (including workbooks, textbooks, online resources, etc.), samples of your child’s work, any correspondence with school officials or boards, portfolios and test results, and any other homeschooling documents which prove that you are complying with homeschooling laws and regulations.
We recommend keeping your records for two years, and the best way to store them is by scanning them into your computer and storing them in separate folders, grouped by the year your child was homeschooled.
Testing is an important part of recordkeeping in homeschooling even though there are no formalized requirements in the state of Nevada detailing what your child should be learning. You should be able to demonstrate that your child is learning and your assessments should be agreed upon before you start your homeschooling year. You should keep a record of all your child’s assessments to prove that your child is learning.
Is Part-time Enrollment Permitted in Nevada?
Yes. Under Nevada education law, your child can be partially enrolled in public school. This means that your child can take regular school classes as part of their homeschooling education and can split their time between home and school (as long as the school offers this).
Homeschoolers are also eligible to participate in extracurricular activities in public schools. Any homeschoolers who live with a disability are also eligible for services through their local public school (the same services which students with disabilities would receive if they were enrolled in public school).
You should submit a letter of intent if you wish for your child to participate in any public school programs.
Are Homeschoolers Permitted to Participate in Extracurricular Activities in Nevada?
Yes, and it is encouraged. Homeschool children are permitted to participate in any other extracurricular activities, whether it be with a public school or another organization.
To receive more information about the homeschooling laws in the State of Nevada, you may want to visit the Nevada Homeschool Network website.