General Overview of the Homeschooling Laws in Connecticut
Children in Connecticut must be enrolled in either a private or public school when between the ages of 5 and 18 years. Parents are required to either enroll their children in public school or to ensure that they receive instruction in the mandatory subjects. Children may also receive instruction from a private school or tutor of their choosing.
Notification of Intent to Homeschool in Connecticut
Parents in Connecticut have a statutory and constitutional right to educate their own children at home. They are not required by law to initiate any contact with any government officials before the homeschooling process begins. Children must not undergo any standardized testing if the parents or guardians do not wish so. However, there are some recommended guidelines to ensure that there are no questions about whether or not the child is receiving effective equivalent instruction other than public schooling.
Check out the video below for more info about homeschooling in Connecticut:
Parents are encouraged to file a notice of intent within the first 10 days of starting the homeschool program, as well as at the beginning of all subsequent years which the child or children are to be homeschooled. When filing a notice of intent with the district superintendent, the form must include the name of the teacher, the subjects to be taught, the days of instruction, and the teacher’s methods of assessment.
Also, be aware that if your child is already enrolled in public school, you will need formally withdraw the child from the public school, which can be done through a letter delivered directly to the district superintendent.
Qualifications Required to Homeschool in Connecticut
In terms of the qualifications required for parents or guardians to homeschool children in the state of Connecticut, there are virtually none. As far as state law is concerned, as long as the parent is the official and legal guardian of the child, he or she does not need to have any sort of qualification.
In other words, a parent or guardian is not required to have any sort of teaching or educational degree in order to homeschool children. However, parents and guardians are free to turn to officially recognized tutors or private educators if they see fit.
Number of Days/Hours of Instruction Required for Homeschoolers in Connecticut
Connecticut is one of the 11 US states which has no attendance requirements in terms of homeschool students. There are no set minimum number of hours, days, or hours per day which a student must be instructed, as long as the student is being educated in the required subjects as outlined below.
What Subjects Need to be Covered in Home Education (and for how long) in Connecticut?
The state of Connecticut dictates that children and students being homeschooled must be educated in several primary fields. If you are educating your child at home, you must teach them various subjects including reading, writing, spelling, English grammar, geography, arithmetic, US history, and citizenship. The field of science is also highly recommended as a subject which students should learn. However, do keep in mind that students who are homeschooled face no specific graduation requirements. There is no evaluation for academic progress, standardized test results, or curriculum used. It is, however, recommended that you attend an annual portfolio review with evidence that the child in question is, in fact, receiving an adequate education in the required subjects.
What are the Recordkeeping Requirements for Homeschoolers in Connecticut?
Connecticut is also very lenient in terms of recordkeeping requirements. In other words, legally speaking, this state does not have any such recordkeeping requirements whatsoever. It is however highly recommended that you keep detailed records in regards to information on the textbooks and workbooks, attendance records, correspondence with school officials, samples of student’s schoolwork, portfolios and test results, and any other documents showing that your child is receiving an appropriate education in compliance with the laws of Connecticut.
These records should be maintained for at least 2 years. Your letter of intent is another document which you should keep for your records. However, this is all up to you as the parent or guardian.
Is Part-time Enrollment Permitted in Connecticut?
The state of Connecticut does not require or bar public schools from allowing homeschool students to be enrolled part-time. This matter is left up totally to the local school board district in question. Also, students with disabilities are eligible for testing through their local public schools, but not entitled to services offered through these schools.
Are Homeschoolers Permitted to Participate in Extracurricular Activities in Connecticut?
Homeschool students in Connecticut are barred from engaging in interscholastic or extracurricular activities in public schools. Public schools in this state require students to be enrolled full time in the school in order to play sports and engage in other such extracurricular activities.
For more information on homeschooling in the State of Connecticut, please visit The Education Association of Christian Homeschoolers of Connecticut.