General Overview of the Homeschooling Laws in Alaska
Generally speaking, what you need to know about homeschooling in Alaska, is that this State is considered to be one of the most, if not the latest in terms of laws and regulations. When it comes to it, as long as you are the legal guardian of your child, you can more or less educate them in any way you see fit, without needing to adhere to requirements in regards to minimum hours or days of instruction, subjects taught, recordkeeping, or any other such requirements.
Find out more about Homeschooling Laws in Alaska in the short video below:
Alaska is most likely the most relaxed state when it comes to homeschooling children. When it comes down to it, there are 5 options to choose from. A child can be educated at home by their legal guardian and is then exempt from mandatory attendance laws.
A child can be tutored by a certified teacher. If the school qualifies as a religious or private school under Alaska Statute Sections 14.30.010(b)(12) and 14.30.010(b), a child can be educated there as well. Children may also be enrolled in a full-time program of correspondence study or be enrolled in an educational experience as approved by the local school board.
Notification of Intent to Homeschool in Alaska
Technically speaking, when a parent or guardian wishes to homeschool a child in Alaska, there is absolutely no obligation on behalf of the parent or guardian to inform anybody at all of such matters. A parent is not required to be certified, to show records, file forms, or any other such activities. However, keep in mind that children between the ages of 7 and 16 are required to engage in schooling in the state of Alaska.
If a child is enrolled in the first grade, they must attend public school unless parents or guardians withdraw the child within the first 60 days of the school year. If the child is not withdrawn within the first 60 days of the school year, parents or guardians must wait until the following year.
Qualifications Required to Homeschool in Alaska
As mentioned before, children in Alaska who are being homeschooled may be instructed by a state-certified teacher, but this is not necessary. If a parent wishes to homeschool their child in Alaska, as long as they are the legal parent or guardian, there are absolutely no qualifications required.
Technically speaking, a parent who has not even so much as received their own high school diploma, or any other accreditations of any kind, is still allowed to homeschool their children. Parents are also not required to register their homeschool with the state.
Number of Days/Hours of Instruction Required for Homeschoolers in Alaska
As has been mentioned, Alaska is one of the most relaxed States in the US regarding homeschooling. As stated by the Alaska homeschool statute, there are no minimum or the maximum number of days or hours of required instruction for a student. This is left totally up to the parent, tutor, or guardian left in charge of the education of the homeschooling child.
What Subjects Need to Be Covered in Home Education (and for how long) in Alaska?
As was the case with the number of days and hours required, when it comes to subjects that need to be covered in homeschooling, there are none. Once again, this is left totally up to the parents or guardians who are in charge of the homeschooling. There is not one single subject which the state of Alaska has deemed necessary for homeschooled children to learn. As a parent, it is up to you to provide your child with the subjects they will require for future success.
What are the Recordkeeping Requirements for Homeschoolers in Alaska?
The state of Alaska recommends that you keep records of subjects taught, your students, their names, the hours and days of attendance, tests, workbooks, and other such things. However, strictly speaking, there are absolutely no regulations in place which force parents or guardians to engage in any kind of bookkeeping or record keeping. As has been the case with many points here, this is all left up to the parent.
Is Part-time Enrollment Permitted in Alaska?
Yes, the State of Alaska does allow for part-time enrollment. Students who are being educated through the homeschool law or through a correspondence program are permitted to enroll in part-time classes in public school. Public schools receive part-time funding for part-time students. However, what needs to be kept in mind is that this is based on space. If classrooms do not have enough space for a part-time student, they are not required to accept them.
Are Homeschoolers Permitted to Participate in Extracurricular Activities in Alaska?
Students who are being educated through a parent-based homeschool are barred from engaging in public school extracurricular activities.
For more information on the state of homeschooling in Alaska, please visit the Alaska Private & Home Educators Association website.